Last updated: March 04. 2014 10:19AM - 701 Views

“Robin Nest,” an ink & watercolor by Morgan Summerlin from Daniel High School, won first place in the High School Division.
“Robin Nest,” an ink & watercolor by Morgan Summerlin from Daniel High School, won first place in the High School Division.
Story Tools:

Font Size:

Social Media:

PICKENS — The Pickens County Cultural Commission recently recognized the winners of Pickens County Youth Arts 2014, which drew 994 works of art that will be on display at the Pickens County Museum through March 27.

This year’s Pickens County Cultural Commission Awards include in the High School Division: Morgan Summerlin from Daniel High School, first place for the ink & watercolor “Robin Nest;” Kyle McManis of Pickens High School, second place for the mixed media “Past and Present;” and Craig Stewart from Liberty High School, third place for the fiber art piece “Family Genes.

An Honorable Mention Award went to Easley High School’s Laurie Lemere for the watercolor “Untitled Memorial.”

Director’s Choice Certificates in the High School Division were presented to Callie Durham, Erika Gibbon, Kay Lawrence and Savannah Oddo from Daniel High; Bria Cutrer, Audrey Dangler, Emily Moss and Emilie White from Easley High; Karson Brown, Tyler Chapman, Rebekah Davis and Holly Gillespie from Liberty High; and Anna Alexander, Alexis Day, Dakota Gamble and Brianna Miles from Pickens High.

In the Middle School Division, first place went to Pickens Middle School’s Tyler Jackson for the graphite drawing “The Crow” and second place went to Noah Thomas from Liberty Middle School for the collage “Bird on a Branch.”

Third place went to Dacusville Middle School’s Rebecca White for the pen & ink drawing “Tiger Eye” and Honorable Mention Awards went to Lauren Lesley from R.H. Gettys Middle school for the colored pencil drawing “Infinity” and to Lou Thompson from R.C. Edwards Middle school for the graphite drawing “Self Portrait.”

Directors Choice Certificates in the Middle School Division included Faith Bentley, Lexi Mathis and Walker Williams from Dacusville Middle School; Kayla Dickard, Gavin Gillespie and Sam Ogle from R. C. Edwards Middle School; Savanna Dyer, Kenta Ogwa and Kimi Rhodes from R. H. Gettys Middle School; Judith Martinez-Lopez, Clay Oliver and Amy Owen from Liberty Middle School; and Maddie Gambrell, Maggie Jordan and Caitlyn Murphy from Pickens Middle School.

In the Elementary School Division all participating students were presented an Award of Participation by the Museum and the participating Schools.

Contact the museum at 864-898-5963 for more information.

All user comments are subject to our Terms of Service. Users may flag inappropriate comments.
comments powered by Disqus

Featured Businesses


Info Minute

Gas Prices

Easley Gas Prices provided by GasBuddy.com